Reconsideration Review

If your initial disability claim was denied by the Social Security Administration, you can appeal. The first level of appeal, really a formality, is a "reconsideration" by a claims examiner at Disability Determination Services (DDS). Most reconsiderations are denied, but in most states it's a necessary step to get a hearing in front of an administrative law judge. The following states don't require a reconsideration; in these states the  appeal hearing is the first level of appeal:  Alabama,  Alaska,  California (Los Angeles North and Los Angeles West Branches only),  Colorado,  Louisiana,  Michigan,  Missouri,  New Hampshire,  New York, and  Pennsylvania.

Talk to a Disability Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you