Appeals Council

The third level of appeal in the Social Security disability system goes to the Social Security Appeals Council (AC). If you are denied Social Security disability (SSDI or SSI) after a hearing with an administrative law judge (ALJ), you have the option of filing an appeal with the Appeals Council. The Appeals Council consists of over 50 Administrative Appeals Judges and over 50 Appeals Officers who handle Appeals Council reviews for the whole country. If you appeal to the Appeals Council, an Administrative Appeals Judge will determine if the administrative law judge (ALJ) made an error in making his or her decision at the hearing level.

How old are you?

Talk to a Disability Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you